Tips for Finding Sweet Stuff When Thrifting for Clothes

When you start spending time in thrift stores searching for bargains, you start to develop a few favorite tips and techniques. Today, I’m sharing my best ideas with you for how to find some great deals while looking for fun, fashion finds at your local Salvation Army Family Store!

Psst! You can find a similar list, tailored to finding fun finds for the home, over on our blog, here.

Know your favorites and check for them often. For example, if you have a favorite sports team, always make a pass at the t-shirts to see if there are any jerseys or logo shirts for sale. We always look for Sporting KC shirts, and we’ve found a few over the past couple of years living in the city.

Wiz-shirt

Look down, or up! Thrift stores get a lot of traffic and usually don’t have many extra employees, sometimes, clothing can fall off the hanger and end up on the floor, or draped over the top of the rack. This adorable shirt was on the floor and a little dusty, but It was a nice brand, and in good condition (no stains) so I snapped it up and gave it a good washing before pairing it with this denim skirt, (also thrifted!) and some wedges for a fun, stylish look.

Thrifted Flowered Blouse and Skirt

Keep a running list of items you’re looking for. I’ve been searching for a new white cardigan for several months now. I usually have a few items like this in my mind when we walk into a store. And while I might never find those particular item at a thrift store (white cardigans in good condition are hard to come by second hand…), I know to always take a minute to check. Usually, it’s pretty fast to find a specific item because clothing is sorted by type, and by color! Luckily, this time, I got lucky and snagged a Forever 21 like new cardigan in my size!

Thrifted White Cardigan 3

Be creative and take risks. I’m not normally a very daring person when it comes to my wardrobe. I like to stick to basics and things I know I like and that look good on me. But, if I’m given the opportunity to buy something a little new and different, for only $1.99, I’m a lot more likely to branch out! For instance, I’m not normally a pink-wearing girly girl, but I do like ruffles, and this shirt was only $2, so I felt it was worth the few times I might wear it. Basically, let yourself have fun with style. Thrift stores are a great place to test out trends!

Thrifted Pink Ruffle Shirt

Be aware of the perspective change. I’ll admit that being thrifty has affected my entire perspective when it comes to buying things. When I see something on sale at a mall, my thought process goes something like this: “Oh wow, this jacket is 20% off! But the starting price was $49! I know it’s on sale. And I really like it. But, there’s no way I’m paying $40 for this. I could get like 8 shirts for that at a thrift store or a garage sale. Dang it.”

That said, if I really want and/or need said $40 jacket, I think it’s important to splurge every so often if you’re able to fit it into the budget. Because let’s face it, while thrifting is a great way of life, sometimes you just can’t find the perfect fitting pair of jeans and you’ll have to go out and buy a new pair. Don’t beat yourself up about that. Just let all the savings you do snag at thrift stores offset those bigger purchases.

Salvation Army 2

Know that some things are fixable.

I’m not a great seamstress but I’m able to fix a busted out hemline or a loose button. Don’t let things like that scare you away. Of course, a giant rip or a broken zipper can be a little harder to fix. Keep in mind that too-long items can be rehemmed (even using no-sew hem tape!) and that jeans can be made into shorts!

Fixing Shirt Seam

 

Be realistic about stains. I’ve found that most items that are stained (as opposed to just dusty) are stained beyond repair. (In fact, that’s probably why someone donated that otherwise-like-new-really-expensive-name-brand-dress.) Now, that doesn’t mean I don’t ever buy things that are slightly stained. Sometimes, you can get them out. Sometimes you can’t. Just know that ahead of time.

White Dress Stain 2

So, there you have my favorite tips…now it’s your turn to share yours in a comment below!

And don’t forget to check out our tips for finding thrifted items for your home, here!

Blog Header1 (2)

About Me: Hi! I’m Melissa. Normally, you can find me blogging at LovingHere.com, where Hubs and I talk about our adventures in home ownership and DIY. I’m a spray paint fanatic and he’s my master craftsman, so between the two of us, we’re turning our builder basic home into a DIY dream home we love!

Categories: Uncategorized

1 reply »

Leave a comment